Center for Pulsed Power and Power Electronics.
TTU Home Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering P3E Home
Save the Date!

January 7-9, 2020

TTU Center for Pulsed Power to host:
A Short Course on Pulsed Power

For more information click Here.

Dr. Magne "Kris" Kristiansen Scholarship

The P3E Center is establishing a "Dr. Magne "Kris" Kristiansen Memorial Scholarship Fund" for students that are interested in pursuing a career in Pulsed Power Science and Technology.

For more information click Here.

Andreas Neuber Elected PPS&T Chair, 2016 - 2017

Andreas Neuber Dr. Andreas Neuber was elected as Technical Chair of the IEEE Pulsed Power Science & Technology Committee, PPS&T. The PPS&T strives for the advancement of pulsed power science, technology and its application and is committed to maintain and promote high scientific and technical standards among the pulsed power community. The Committee aids in promoting cooperation and exchange of technical information among the pulsed power community.

Shelby Lacouture Awarded the 2016 Arthur H. Guenther Pulsed Power Student Award

Shelby Lacouture The P3E Center is proud to announce that Mr. Shelby Lacouture of Texas Tech University, Lubbock Texas is the 2016 Arthur H. Guenther Pulsed Power Student Award winner. Mr. Lacouture is a graduate student seeking his PhD in Electrical Engineering at Texas Tech University under Dr. Stephen Bayne. He has been recognized for his achievements in the design and build of multiple pulsed power systems and the design and prototyping of a 3-D static magnetic field imager.

Mr. Lacouture will receive his honor at the 2017 Pulsed Power Conference in Brighton, England.

Read more:

James Schrock Awarded the ARCS scholarship.

James Schrock James Schrock received the Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) for the 2014-2015 year with a monetary reward of $5,000. Mr. Schrock is currently pursuing his Ph.D. under Dr. Stephen Bayne and commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the United States Air Force.

Sterling Beeson Awarded 2015 Arthur H. Guenther Pulsed Power Student Award

Sterling Beeson Mr. Sterling Beeson, an ECE doctoral student in the P3E center has received the Arthur H. Guenther Pulsed Power Student Award at the 2015 IEEE Pulsed Power Conference & Symposium on Fusion Engineering held in Austin, TX. This award recognizes the outstanding student contributions in pulsed power engineering, science or technology including a monetary award provided by the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society's International Pulsed Power Conference budget. A recipient is selected annually but is awarded at the biennial Pulsed Power Conference. This award was established in 1997 as the Pulsed Power Science and Technology Committee's Outstanding Pulsed Power Student Award later renamed to the Arthur H. Guenther Pulsed Power Student Award in 2007 following the passing of Dr. Guenther.

Read more:

Andrew Fierro Awarded 2014 Tom Burkes Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Andrew Fierro Andrew Fierro, a doctoral student and member of the Center for Pulsed Power and Power Electronics, was the recipient of the 2014 Tom R. Burkes Outstanding Graduate Student Award to be presented in Santa Fe, New Mexico at the IEEE International Power Modulator and High Voltage Conference. This award recognizes contributions by a graduate student in the field of engineering, science, or technology associated with power modulation, power electronics, or repetitive pulsed power.

About the P3E Center

The Center for Pulsed Power and Power Electronics (P3E) has three primary research areas:   Plasma, Pulsed Power, and Power Electronics.

Plasma research includes a small Tokomak used for wave propagation studies, applications of plasma technology to pulsed power devices, plasma synthesis of thin films, high power microwave generation, and electric space propulsion engines.

Pulsed power research concentrates on high power switching, materials studies, and high power microwaves. The program is heavily interdisciplinary and involves faculty members from EE, ME, Physics and Chemistry.

Power electronics research is focused on very large power IGBT's, Ultra High Power SCR's, advanced electrical and thermal packaging, robust controls for plasma arcs, and high bandwidth monitoring and control of electric machines. The program is also involved in the development of a power electronics curriculum at the national level in collaboration with the University of Minnesota.

Faculty Books
Explosively Driven Pulsed Power
Helical Magnetic Flux Compression Generators
Series: Power Systems
Neuber, Andreas A. (Ed.)
2005, XII, 280 p. 203 illus., Hardcover
ISBN: 978-3540260516 
J.C. Martin on Pulsed Power
Series: Advances in Pulsed Power Technology, Vol. 3
Martin, T.H.; Guenther, A.H.; Kristiansen, M. (Eds.)
1996, 535 p., Hardcover
ISBN: 978-0306453029
Gas Discharge Closing Switches
Series: Advances in Pulsed Power Technology , Vol. 2
Schaefer, Gerhard; Kristiansen, M.; Guenther, A.H. (Eds.)
1991, 600 p., Hardcover
ISBN: 978-0306436192
P3E Center Brochure